New Strings.. New setup?

Hey hey people :slight_smile:
After some time I couldn’t play bass I finally bought new, brighter strings.
My bass is like 8 years old, never had the strings changed.
The new ones I’ve bought are lighter a bit (because my hands hurt easily, I wanted to have it a bit easier practicing). I guess that will leave my action way too high?
I am stressed that with the lockdown we are right now in my country, I won’t be able to find anyone to help me set my bass up.
Is it wise to do it myself? Do you have any good resources that could help? (I saw some vids on youtube and yeah ok seems easy but it’s something I’ve never done before). Change of strings is something I have had experience with my classical guitar so I’m only stressed about the setup.
The sound I want to have is that Cure-ish post punk-ish gothicrock-ish tone, but that’s something that can be fixed with a pedal and a tone configuration at some point.
I’m looking forward for your advice thanks for your time ^^ (I promise I’ll be more active now)

3 Likes

Check out this thread, @NocturnalPulse . . . :slight_smile:

HTH and all best, Joe

2 Likes

Yep you’ll be fine, it’s not hard at all. You also don’t need any special tools, just the allen wrenches that came with your bass, and a screwdriver. You can safely ignore things like feeler gauges and nut filing, just do the basics like in Marcelo’s video in that thread that Joe just posted.

4 Likes

Hello both!
Thank you for redirecting me to the post!
I’ve found the video and it’s very good, read all the posts too!
I will post results tomorrow! :smiley:

3 Likes

Good luck!

Marcelo has another good video about setting your intonation as well. But that comes after the basic setup, and just needs a screwdriver.

2 Likes