Setting up for BEAD

I’m fairly certain this has been discussed before, but, I want to set my Dimension up for BEAD. I’m certain it’s not as simple as downtuning. I’m sure I’ll probably need strings, and I’ll probably have to adjust the truss rod and intonation and all that.

Can anyone offer any pointers or direct me to a previous thread (I’m a software developer, but my Google-fu suuuuuuuucks).

6 Likes

we had this post for general information about alternate tunings : Alternate tuning

I (re)built a bass for BEAD tuning. I used the 4 biggest strings of a 5-strings set. I had to make a new nut, and I had to modify a little bit the bridge and the “B” saddle to allow the biggest string to fit.

otherwise it should be fine, of course you will have to adjust the saddles and check the truss rod but that’s no big deal.

6 Likes

According to Stringjoy’s tension calculator (mind you, based on their own strings only) the tension difference between a .045 .065 .085 .105 set tuned EADG and a .065 .085 .105 .125 set tuned BEAD is about 10lbs less, so there’ll be some truss rod adjustment as already said. Even with a .130 (which I would personally do, especially on a 34" scale bass) it’s still about 6lbs less, so either way you’re touching that truss rod a little bit.

Reminded of my youth when I knew fuck all and tuned down to BEAD on my usual set of strings and knew nothing of truss rods or setups :rofl:

4 Likes

just to give an idea, I use 65-130 strings from a 45-130 5-strings set. I would not go lower.

6 Likes

When I switched my Sire over to B-E-A-D I had to file the nut to open up the slots enough for the strings. Other than that it was just a typical setup.

3 Likes

And I agree with @terb. I used D’addario EXL’s in the same guages that he used.

3 Likes

You’ll need strings. Few ways to go.

GHS makes a set of strings for BEAD tuning. I tried one of their light sets, with a 125 B string but it was so floppy on a 34" scale. If you go GHS get the medium set