Shoulder pain

Hi,
I purchased a bass few days back and have started learning from Josh’s videos. I’m considering buying his course in near future (I’ve to get an amp first lol).
Anyways. What my problem is that when I try to play bass my shoulders start to hurt a little after 5-7mins of continuous. Now I Don’t own a strap so it’s certainly not bass’ weight. My wrists feel fine, not any alarming pain yet. Do you think it’s just because I’m just new to holding bass and it feels uncomfortable in beginning?

5 Likes

Your muscles are learning new things, plus you’re probably using muscles that you haven’t used much before.
I definitely recommend you get a strap though… a wide one!

5 Likes

What @PamPurrs said was spot on and @JoshFossgreen recommends always using a strap but I can say, from experience, a bad strap is worse than no strap at all.

Also, you can check these threads to see if they can help sort out what might be causing the pain and ways to relieve it.

Shoulder Pain Due to Weight of Guitar .
Harness Strap .
Hand/Arm issues? Problems? Solutions? Do tell - #28 by pukkita .
Problems with a shoulder .

I know that’s a lot. Unless it’s a matter of just getting used to it, like Pam said, it’s difficult to make recommendations without more information.

Good luck, @Gray and let us know how it goes.

4 Likes

As much as anything more technical or gear related, when you first start with the bass you will be tenser than you realise so even the smallest of movements are constricted and tighten you even more. Once you get a comfortable strap you should feel it less, but for a while you may well still have some aches in muscles that a) you didn’t know you had and have hardly ever really worked, and b) you are still tensing as you try to combine learning, focussing, critically analysing your technique, and quite possibly (if you’re anything like a lot of us) you’ll be worrying too much.