Using Rocksmith 2014 Remastered for practice

So I am steadily moving along, and towards the end of module 8 now. Although I can not say I have mastered anything in the fast workouts, the slow workout mode is about where I am at on my best days.

I still suck pretty bad, but it all takes time, I know it’s a slow process, so I am not worried about progressing overnight. I am using BassBuzz as my primary learning tool for proper technique and theory and so far been very happy with Josh and his teaching methods. Although if I was to criticize anything, it’s that I feel the course could go even slower. As a new musician I really am bad… I have to check what string i’m on, and always looking at the frets as non of the positioning is second nature to me yet.

So wanting to continue learning, I debated about finding a local tutor, but decided I should probably get a stronger basic foundation before pursuing that as a next step.

So, I recently picked up Rocksmith 2014 Remastered for the PC, to supplement my training and since I have not seen anyone else review it on these forums, I figured I would, for those interested or wondering about it.

This is the package I purchased https://tinyurl.com/y2m4t6sa for $39 and it comes with the necessary cable to plug into the PC. Not sure how it works on Consoles I will be only discussing my experience with it running on Windows 10.

It is a Steam based game, so if you do not have a Steam account you will need to make one, also it’s produced by Ubisoft, so you will need to create a Uplay account on there site as well. Both of these are free, you just need them to login/play or purchase DLC (downloadable content, like additional song packs)

The install was easy enough, and I was quickly up and running in the game. I have owned it for 2 weeks now, and have about 15 hours logged on to it, so around an hour a day or so. My fingers just aren’t strong enough to do more then that yet.