Why This Bass Line Effin' Kills It > Roundabout by Yes (+Tab)

How do you get that Chris Squire sizzle? Lemme break down “Roundabout” for you and show how you to level up your own bass lines.

https://youtu.be/TyK4uRHhk2I

If you’re doing the Beginner to Badass course, the playing difficulty on the lesson will be pretty intense, so be prepared for a challenge! You can also just watch for fun and apply the concepts to your own (less insane) bass lines.

Full Roundabout Bass Tab + Sheet Music

Here’s the full, uncensored, Josh-approved sheet music + bass tab for Roundabout, have fun!

Isn’t that crazy that Chris Squire signature Rick’s go for tens of thousands of dollars, even though he said they don’t even sound like his bass? Mind blown. :exploding_head:

21 Likes

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!!’
I’ve been a bassist since 1976 and THIS song has always been my elusive unicorn that, for whatever reason, I just COULD NOT play!!! You have given me the map I need to follow to find this unicorn’s lair! I’ll have time during this upcoming dreary Michigan winter week to work on this until I master it!
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!!

7 Likes

Did someone get a Ricky for Christmas? @JoshFossgreen

5 Likes

Great video. Although very out of my reach, songs like this make we want to keep learning and get to higher levels of proficiency.

3 Likes

Chris got me interested in bass. I wore out copies of Fragile, Yes Album, and Yessongs. I don’t think I will ever get to that level.

Roundabout is a great song.

3 Likes

As you work through the B2B course, you get to a point where you no longer feel like you’re just flailing around trying to keep up with Billie Jean. You can hear things like this and think, "got-dang, that bass tone is #goals and:
ND I want that

This face (snort):
Disapproving Meme Girl

Disapproving Meme Girl doesn’t like simple pop songs? They’re good palate cleansers.
(Oh wait it’s the overly complicated bass thing) (goes to get another coffee)