Hello fellow BassBuzzers

Yayyy, the new forum is alive. Just started Josh’s lessons a couple of months ago, and am having a blast so far! I originally got an Ibanez but realized my hands were not really the ideal size once I got into a few of the lessons and running into some difficulty. After a little research, I discovered the wonderful world of the “short scale” bass. A lot of manufacturers have models that are in the 28 or 30 inch range, rather than the standard 34. Once I made the switch, I couldn’t be happier.

5 Likes

When I started learning, I was using a mate’s bass and amp, but it didn’t inspire me to play. Once I started looking around, I decided on a Fender P-Bass and now I love to pick it up and play it. Same with anything.

2 Likes

Hey! Well the forum is finally coming to life for real, and I’m happy to hear that short scale is making a difference for you! That bass looks awesome, I really like those short scale Fenders. Purdy red finish too. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

That is a really nice looking bass.

1 Like

I Played a P bass in the 60s. Yes, I’m that old. I never really learned how to play correctly. I just did what I was told to do. Now, I was given a Squire bass for my birth day. I wanted to play with my granddaughter, she is 8 and quite a little bass player. Well I couldn’t keep up. I looked around and found this course and what a difference it made! I didn’t get my bass setup right away like recommended but as the course progressed I felt a need to do that. Again, Wow! It’s much easier to play now. I did add flat strings mostly because that is what I played as a teenager back in the day. I love the sound but don’t recommend them as they are a bit stiffer. Sorry to go on like this. I just want to say that this course is GREAT!

3 Likes

I’m jealous of the 60’s P bass experience, Nicholas! That’s awesome your granddaughter is playing bass so young, and hopefully you’ll be able to show her a thing or two pretty soon. :slight_smile: