Is PJ Worth it?

Hi eveyone,
I am new to Bassbuzz. After thinking about whether to begin playing the bass for a good while (years actually) I decided to just go on and do it.
As I am in the market for a new bass, would you recommend a PJ bass for a beginner?
Thank you!

5 Likes

Yes. You can get the traditional sound of a P bass with added advantage of the J pickup when you want it.

Mostly, get something you think is cool enough to make you want to pick it up and play.

Also, if you can go to music store and get your hands on as many different basses as possible, itā€™ll help you find one that feels best to you.

5 Likes

Love my PJ, got it as my second bass (bought a 5 string first, I donā€™t reccomend doing that for starting out). It has good versatility and as mentioned, you get a bit of both in one bass.

4 Likes

Thanks Eric. I do like the well-rounded P bass sound, but I also like the growling bridge J pickup sound, so I thought I could combine the best of both worlds :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thank you Doc. Mind if I ask you which bass(es) you have and why you made that choice?

3 Likes

Talk about my basses? Twist my arm why dont you :rofl:

My 5-string is an Ibanez, first bass I bought and I did it for arguably one of the worst reasons to choose an instrument. It looks amazing LOL. I play it a lot now, but learning on it was a pain, some experience under the belt and it became fun. This has a dual humbucker configuration.

2nd I bought was a Squier PJ Affinity, and the motivation there was wanted a 4-string to ease learning, and wanted to keep price down. Pickup configuration was a secondary concern, but in general I like to throw in to the jack of all trades category when starting a new hobby, since I donā€™t usually know what is good for what. Great feeling bass, stock pickups were absolutely fine, but I eventually ended up swapping them out.